Kerbio

Article 4 by council › Reading

HMO Article 4 in Reading

Do you need planning permission to turn a family home into a small HMO in Reading? What the council's own direction says, with dates, the map and the source.

In parts. Reading has HMO Article 4 directions in named areas.

named areas: much of Park, Redlands and Katesgrove wards (in force May 2013, exact day not stated on council page; northern boundary in Park ward is London Road, Wokingham Road and Palmer Park Avenue); Jesse Terrace, Abbey ward (January 2016) Inside those areas a small HMO of 3 to 6 people needs full planning permission; outside them it is permitted development, subject to licensing. Check the exact address on the council's map or with the postcode checker below.

Coversnamed areas: much of Park, Redlands and Katesgrove wards (in force May 2013, exact day not stated on council page; northern boundary in Park ward is London Road, Wokingham Road and Palmer Park Avenue); Jesse Terrace, Abbey ward (January 2016)ProposedCouncil said in July 2023 it would investigate extending the direction to St Bartholomew's Road and the north side of London Road opposite Palmer Park once Local Plan work allowed (late 2024 onwards); no new direction foundCouncil pagewww.reading.gov.uk/planning-and-building-control/article-4-dMapcouncil mapChecked8 September 2026

Check an exact postcode

A direction can cover part of a council, and the national dataset is incomplete. This asks the planning data service for the exact point and falls back to the council's own statement.

Licensing in Reading

Mandatory HMO licence: 5 or more people forming 2 or more households sharing facilities.

Additional licensing: yes, whole district (from 1 March 2026), ends 28 February 2031.

Selective licensing: none found. Proposed only. Page states you cannot yet apply and the formal designations have not yet been made; Battle expected within 2 years, Park and Redlands at 12 to 14 month intervals thereafter.

Full licensing detail for Reading

What an Article 4 direction means

HMO Article 4 directions remove the permitted-development right to convert a family home (C3) to a small HMO (C4, 3 to 6 people). Inside one, that conversion needs full planning permission. Councils may also run additional licensing (smaller HMOs) or selective licensing (all private rentals) in designated areas. Planning permission and licensing are separate: a licence does not grant planning permission, and permission does not remove the need for a licence.

See this on every listing.Kerbio puts the Article 4 answer, licensing, the council's HMO register and sold prices on the Rightmove, Zoopla or OnTheMarket page itself. Free for 7 days, then £39 a month.
Add to Chrome

Sources: Reading council, planning.data.gov.uk Article 4 direction areas, gov.uk HMO licensing. Indicative; confirm with the council before you offer.