Kerbio

Licensing by council › Ealing

HMO licensing in Ealing

Which licences a rented house needs in Ealing, and where. England. Checked 7 September 2026.

Ealing runs additional licensing and selective licensing on top of mandatory licensing.

Mandatory HMO licence: 5 or more people forming 2 or more households sharing facilities.

Additional licensing

Extends HMO licensing to smaller HMOs (typically 3 or 4 people) in a designated area.

StatusIn forceWherewhole boroughDesignated1 April 2022

Additional HMO licensing for 3 or 4 unrelated occupants adopted from 1 April 2022; end date not stated on page; council consultation on additional HMO licensing running 15 July 2026 to 24 September 2026.

Selective licensing

Every privately rented home in a designated area needs a licence, HMO or not.

StatusIn forceWherenamed wards: East Acton, Southall Broadway, Southall Green (from 1 April 2022); Acton Central, Dormers Wells, Greenford Broadway, Greenford Green, Hanger Hill, Hobbayne, Lady Margaret, North Greenford, Northolt Mandeville, Northolt West End, Perivale, South Acton (from 3 January 2023)Designated1 April 2022

Phased selective licensing: three wards from 1 April 2022, twelve further wards from 3 January 2023; end dates not stated on page.

Council HMO page · HMO Article 4 in Ealing

Check an exact postcode for Article 4

See this on every listing.Kerbio puts the Article 4 answer, licensing, the council's HMO register and sold prices on the Rightmove, Zoopla or OnTheMarket page itself. Free for 7 days, then £39 a month.
Add to Chrome

Sources: Ealing council, gov.uk HMO licensing. Schemes change; confirm with the council before you offer.